Skip to content

Spring Dreaming

November 19, 2011

Maybe it’s because I groaned when caught off guard  by yesterday’s sudden rush of November snowflakes. Maybe it’s because I’m faced almost daily with the bitter reality that my wardrobe is completely tailored to warm weather.  Maybe it’s because I was born in June.  Whatever the reason may be, winter and I just don’t mix.

Daydreaming of sunny days yet to come while I plot a move to a climate more appropriate to my preferences, possessions, and astrological profile, I thought I’d dish a bit on what what I’m warming up to when it comes to Spring/Summer trends.

Hues of Blue

From New York to Milan, designers propose summer threads in all shades of indigo.  Whether totally decked out in deep sapphire or coordinating with a pop of bright turquoise or even a muddy blue-grey,  the sky’s the limit when it comes to adding in a touch of primary color into your wardrobe. 

Louis Vuitton

Fendi

Milly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drop-waisted Duds

Slightly 30’s inspired, and with a combination of simple necklines and longer, flowing hemlines, these chic frocks draw attention to the hips.  Whether accentuated with a pleat, motif or low-slung belt, drop-waist dresses will be a summer must-have.

Celine

Etro

Chloé

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A New Boyfriend Blazer

A new take on an old trend popped up all over the runways.  Instead of a boxy, rolled-up sleeved, man’s suit jacket, try one with a slightly longer lapel and a solitary low positioned button.  Stella McCartney suggested a jacket-cumberbun combo, while Givenchy’s asymmetrical version with tails makes me go ga-ga.

Stella McCartney

Givenchy

Anne Valérie Hash

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lengths and Layers

Inspired by a shot I recently spotted on The Sartorialist,  I’m totally digging the daring mix of lengths when layering for spring.  Short over long and flowing, cropped pants with larger jackets, and transparent overlays were a few of my favorites.  Do silky socks worn with strappy heels count in the dreaded “no-socks-with-sandals” mistake?  Taking a cue from Marc Jacobs, I’m totally tempted.

Acne

Bottega Veneta

Marc Jacobs

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cutesie Collars

Feminine, girly even, collars showed up more often than necklaces on the spring runways.  Marni made theirs interchangeable, while other designers emphasized the neckline by pairing it with transparent fabrics.

Jil Sander

Marni

Christian Dior

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

