Skip to content

New York Digits

August 23, 2011

Before arriving in New York I was told- mind you, by more than one person- that the Big Apple was the town of networking.  No joke.  Cards are exchanged and numbers are taken just about every two minutes.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched people on Facebook or BBM searching for the person that they’re in the midst of talking to face-to-face.  No holds barred.  No problem that we’ve just been introduced exactly three seconds ago. Who you know and who you’ve got programmed into whichever form of technology you can fit into your pocket is the name of the game in this city.

This networking thing…I’m total crap at it.  I’m someone who doesn’t even have a card, let alone a phone that has it’s own messaging system or Wifi capabilities.  You’re lucky if I can remember my own phone number fast enough to rattle it off at the drop of a hat.

So that’s why I’m not talking here about those kind of digits.  I’m talking about the digits that are more my style. The style that represents the kind of person that spends her days admiring the funky outfits people are sporting on the train, making mental notes of cool stores and cafés so that she can return later, and whose ears perk up every time she meets someone on the street who is speaking Italian, just so that she can ask them exactly where to find the most perfect espresso.   Not numbers.  We’re talking fingers and toes.

Not only do New Yorkers freely give out their numerical digits, but they highlight their anatomical ones.  In fact, the hand and foot fashion right about now in NYC can be summarized in two ways:

1.  Those weird running shoes with the separated toes.  On the subway.  Walking down 5th Avenue.  All I can do when looking at them is think about kayaking or windsurfing or some other aquatic sport which would require funny, bendable, plastic shoes that allow for the independent movement of each toe.  Is this necessary on the subway, in what some say is the most fashionable city in the U.S.? In my opinion….no.

2.  One fingernail on each hand painted a different color than the rest.  Usually the ring finger.  It’s everywhere.  And it must be the cool, new thing because I’ve seen it on just about every kind of girl in Gotham City, from a 13 yr.old to the über-fashionista of a receptionist at the “not-to-be-named” fashion house that I worked at all summer.

So, if you can’t beat them, join them.  And since it’s already been established that networking will never be my thing, I decided to give in and show off some other digits.

If you think that I’ve donned my new “toe shoes” to type this post, you can think again…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

